Monday, November 14, 2011

2011 NCGC - Tenth anniversary celebrated with USC scoring 10-under par

USC - Nakazaki/Levin
Adam Levin and Kyle Nakazaki from the University of Southern California carded a final score of 62 (-10) to claim the 10th anniversary title of the National Collegiate Golf Championship (NCGC) played at Paiute Golf Resort in Las Vegas, Nevada on Sunday.

As the players arrived under cloudy skies that kept the early-morning temperatures hovering around the low 40's during the first nine holes of play, the sun began beaming down for a hot back nine as birdies started dropping all over the course.

Kennesaw State - Hall/White
Levin and Nakazaki raced past the 100-player field on the back nine and were in close contention with Randy White and Cory Hall from Kennesaw State University, Lawrence Hsu and Ben Lertsakdadet from the University of California-Irvine, and Anthony and Nick Capra from NC State University in the final push towards the clubhouse lead. 

In the end, scoring birdies on the final holes helped to secure the title for the two from Southern Cal as their tournament-record 62 edged out the other three contenders who finished with identical scores of 64 (-8).

A card-off tie-breaking procedure was used to determine second and third places which were awarded to Kennesaw State and UC-Irvine respectively, to round out the Student Division winners.

UC-Irvine - Lertsakdadet/Hsu
Sonoma State - Ramey/Matthew

In Alumni/Community Division play, James Matthew and Brennan Ramey from Sonoma State University scored a 64 (-8) to outlast defending division champion Mike Nakunz and Gary Enos from California State University - San Bernandino who carded a 6-under par 66 for second place.

Participating in his eighth NCGC tournament, Nakunz continued to add to the event record for most appearances and as an exceptional ambassador for CSUSB.

Topping the Faculty/Staff Division of play, Western Kentucky University's Matt Morrison and Adam Whitt took the lead early on and never relinquished it in claiming the division title with a final score of 68 (-4).

The University of Hawaii's Michael Dahilig and Laine Mason followed behind with a score of 71 (-1) to claim second place.
CSUSB - Enos/Nakunz

Once again, the Wolf Course at Paiute provided the setting for a tremendous tournament round and experience for all participants who represented 28 different universities and colleges.

The CGA looks forward to moving on to the next 10 years of competition and providing opportunities for competitive, amateur recreation golfers on campuses across the country to 'keep the dream alive' and working towards contending for a national championship title.

Western Kentucky - Morrison/Whitt

More pictures and video : NCGC Facebook page

University of Hawaii - Mason/Dahilig

Follow CGA on Twitter: CGAgolf 


Register for future CGA events online